Yes or no?

19Apr11

Does anyone know anything about the referendum that is coming up? I know that we have to vote “Yes”. Or “No”. But I’m a bit mystified about what difference it will make.

I have read all the leaflets which have come through the door. Well, the single leaflet that has been delivered. This mainly consisted of baffling graphics and political mud-slinging. It did not leave me any wiser about the consequences of changing, or not changing, the voting system. It just reinforced the impression that the parties who think that the AV system will help them want me to vote yes and the other parties want me to vote no.

I’m more interested in the strategic impacts. Will we eventually end up with a government like Belgium (no government has been formed for nearly a year – too much choice), or Iran (one government for many years – not enough choice)?

What do blog readers intend to do?

5 Responses to “Yes or no?”

  1. 1 TGee

    Hi Alex

    It’s obvious – under the current system the person you vote for inevitably doesn’t get the seat – under the proposed system, not only does the person you vote for not get the seat, but another four or five of your further choices don’t get the seat either – then someone who has hardly set foot in Norfolk and has an address in the far south will be awarded the seat after we’ve all lost interest in count/recount etc – or is that the current system? Sorry – confused here!

  2. 2 Mrs R

    I’m voting 1 for Yes and 2 for No.

  3. I’m going to vote against the AV option, not because I don’t think our electoral system doesn’t need reform (there’s plenty to suggest that it does), but because AV is the worst possible compromise that we could have come up with. It’s the only method I’ve ever encountered being seriously proposed that has a high likelihood of a candidate who received the highest number of first-round votes not getting the seat.
    There are a great number of alternative voting methods that could be used, we appear to be offering one of the worst as our serious suggestion.
    Disgusted of Tunbridge Wells

  4. 4 Ben

    My first preference is Yes, my second, shoul ‘Yes’ not get 50% of the vote, would be …….errr

  5. 5 ann

    I’ve had a leaflet from David Cameron urging me to vote No.

    I’ve had a leaflet from Joanna Lumley and Eddie Izzard urging me to vote Yes.

    I need to decide which of these knows more about politics and is likely to be guiding me the right way.
    Tough decision.


Leave a Reply

