Domestic God

21Dec10

I was cleaning the bathroom. The hinge on the toilet seat broke as I cleaned it. I was expecting problems. This sort of thing always happens when the house it about to fill up with people for Christmas.

I knew how to fix the toilet seat. I fixed it last time it broke. And the time before that.

This time I tried to make the fix last a bit longer.

I drilled out the broken bolt enthusiastically.  Luckily I did not throw away all the “bits and pieces that might come in handy” when I cleared out the garage. I found a bit of an old bicycle which could replace the broken bit of the toilet seat hinge.

I reassembled the hinge using the bicycle part and reattached it to the toilet.

I tested it.

It worked.

I didn’t have enough time to finish cleaning the bathroom. I handed over the rubber gloves to Mrs R so she could clean the basin.

Five minutes later she told me she had broken the (overcomplicated) plug mechanism. She said she was trying to make the plug work properly, because it leaked.

Twenty-five minutes later we decided that the overcomplicated mechanism could not be fixed. Even with a bicycle.

“Never mind,” I said. “I can take the plug off the bath and get a new one tomorrow.”

I took the plug off the bath. It didn’t fit the drain in the basin. It was too large. When I tried to reattach the plug to the chain in the bath I dropped the little connecting loop down the plughole. It disappeared with a plop into the murky U-bend.

I don’t expect I will be asked to clean the bathroom again for a while.

 

4 Responses to “Domestic God”

  1. 1 Andy, at Aviva Perth

    Great plan to get out of bathroom cleaning. I’ll have to try that.

  2. Strategic incompetence is the favoured term i believe. Glad that you’re over your bout of not-flu.


Leave a Reply

