Silent pause

12Nov10

I was on my way to a meeting, to discuss Agile systems development and the difficulty of continuous integration testing. The train, of course,  was running 20 minutes late. My leisurely walk through the city needed to be brisker than I planned.

At 11am precisely I stopped on a high walkway at the Barbican, just by the Roman wall overlooking the traffic on the 2,000 year-old road below.

For two minutes I stood. Silently. Two taxis pulled up at the kerb and their drivers got out and stood upright, one lightly holding the open door of his cab as if it was a dance partner. On the opposite pavement a traffic warden stopped and stood to attention.

Around us the traffic and pedestrians swirled and hurried.

A short while later I hurried into the office, sweating and breathless.

“I’m sorry I’m a bit late,” I said to my host.

“That’s alright,” he said, glancing at his watch. “It’s only a couple of minutes.”

 

One Response to “Silent pause”

  1. 1 Steve M

    Maybe you needed a short sprint.


Leave a Reply

