Self-build

03Nov10

It’s a struggle to type this. My laptop is balanced precariously on my knee, because I have a new desk.

The desk arrived yesterday. It was delivered in three depressing flat cardboard boxes, not as a single integrated desk-shaped whole. I dislike flat-pack furniture. The pleasure of purchase quickly degenerates into frustration and bafflement.

Happily the instructions are in English. With pictures. There are only three steps to follow. It is a simple desk. It does not even have any drawers. In fact it is really an L-shaped table, with a ‘modesty panel’.

It has 52 separate parts.

The instruction sheet has an inventory of the parts. There are definitely 52 separate pieces. Not including the small packet of “spares” that was also included.

But the real problem, I have discovered now that I have completed step 1 (of 3), is that I need to build the desk upside down and then turn it over when it is built (“use two people to turn the desk over to avoid any injury”).

Unless I move everything else in the room I don’t think that there is room for two people to turn a desk over. My study is quite full of important stuff. Especially the floor, which is more crowded than usual because it includes an upside down desk top.

I may start working at the kitchen table instead.

PS Mrs R’s parcel arrived too. She is pleased.

3 Responses to “Self-build”

  1. 1 Andy, at Aviva Perth

    I bought a computer desk a couple of years ago. It arrived flat packed, like yours; it has nice clear, English instructions with picturs, like yours – however they were instructions for a different desk! The shop people were very helpful and quickly posted me the correct instructions.

    If you construct it in the kitchen at least you will know if you can move it in to/out of your study.

  2. 2 Ann

    I hope it’s not an unbelieveably cheap desk from a well known Swedish furniture company. I built one in a different room due to space restraints, then discovered it fell apart when I tried to move it (well, you get what you pay for!). Maybe constructing it whilst lying on the floor is the answer.

  3. Andy – the desk is now fully operational and in position. It definitely would not have fitted round the tight corner between the kitchen and study, so ‘in-situ’ construction was wise. There was one bolt that just didn’t seem to tighten up though…

    Ann – not Swedish. I’ve checked the box, it was made in, um, China. It is more ‘functional’ than ‘ stylish’. Like me.


Leave a Reply

