In my prime

27Sep10

My son is learning how to write computer programs.  He thinks that this might be a useful skill.

In fact it is already useful, because using one of his programs I have found out that my date of birth in the format ddmmyy is a prime number. Slightly disappointingly in the format ddmmyyyy it has two factors (excluding 1 and itself).

I’m quite pleased to have such a mathematically interesting birth date.

Now I have revealed this I’m sure that someone will point out that there are many, many dates in the format ddmmyy which are prime numbers. But until then, I feel a bit special.

One Response to “In my prime”

  1. 1 Fiona Watson

    Alex, I am impressed with your interesting birth date.

    Unfortunately for me I was born in an even year and so can definitely not have a prime number in the format ddmmyy.


Leave a Reply

