Always on

06Apr10

It’s not as if I spend an unreasonable amount of time on the computer in my study. So it was a bit unnecessary for Mrs R to send me an email from the lounge last night telling me it was late and she was going to bed.

She could have sent an instant message or tweeted or texted me.

8 Responses to “Always on”

  1. 1 John

    Or like in our house, we have an assortment of cordless phones with each one assigned a number – 1 through to 6 and I have been known to phone my daughter internally as it were to tell her dinner is ready. I could easily have stood on tiptoes and banged on the kitchen ceiling.

    A world away from my mother when we lived on a farm and she would just bellow across the fields to me from the back door.

  2. 2 Steve

    Clearly a sign of our modern times….. not unusual in our household with it’s plethora of computers for us to IM each other; lunch ready; Dr Who’s on; turn it down etc etc. Somewhat bizarrely travelling to and from London and other exotic European capitals whilst sat next to each other my colleague Camilla and I have been know to chat with each other via Facebook ……………. go figure??

  3. 3 Steve

    Hello. I am not Steve (although I sit next to him) but WordPress thinks I am. What is going on? Why am i seeing Steve’s personal email address?

  4. 4 Camilla

    Now I am posting as me from my iPhone…..

  5. 5 Camilla

    … and now I am posting as me from my desk.

    • Hello Camilla, and/or Steve. I’m glad to see how technology helps improve communication in the workplace as well as in the home.

  6. 7 Camilla

    Why thank you, Alex. It seems that Aviva systems somehow cache the personal email address of the most recent commenter on a post, so that the next Aviva minion to view your blog from work can see my peronal email address.

    Dear Aviva people, if you are reading Alex’s blog from work, could you let me know if you can now see my peronal email address? If so, can I trust you not to use it for spam?

  7. Camilla,
    the same thing happened to me when replying about rhubarb and custard. This is how i know it wasn’t me…


Leave a Reply

